Regifting the Gift: Mt. 6:28; Eccles. 9:2-3, 8:9 (PART II)

Keep this quote in mind:

“…the decision making doesn’t stop just because you made one good choice out of a dozen bad ones.”

So this time we’re taking a look at Eccles. 9:2-3,

2″All things come alike to all: there is one event to the righteous, and to the wicked; to the good and to the clean, and to the unclean; to him that sacrificeth, and to him that sacrificeth not: as is the good, so is the sinner; and he that sweareth, as he that feareth an oath.”  3″This is an evil among all things that are done under the sun, that there is one event unto all: yea, also the heart of the sons of men is full of evil, and madness is in their heart while they live, and after that they go to the dead.” (Eccles. 9:2-3, KJV)

Point blank: “You need God.” Period. End of the blog.

Nah, nah I’m playin’ 😉

“Your flesh, your continuous urge to sin is why you will always need Him. God is perfect in all His ways, and we are made perfect through Him. That is why you must seek God continually. If you aren’t seeking one you are seeking the other and the fruits you bare will show that.”

Often times we like to pick that happy medium, but God doesn’t operate that way. You’re either for Him or you’re not. And if you’re not for Him, you’re against Him. So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth. (Rev. 3:16, KJV)

(So in the New King James Version…just to make it a little clearer) So then, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will vomit you out of My mouth. (Rev. 3:16, NKJV) Eww…vomit? That gives you a nasty picture doesn’t it?

If you go out to eat and the food you get isn’t cooked all the way, or it looks warm on the outside and you go to take a bite and it’s icy in the middle, how likely are you to keep eating?

Well…just like we don’t want lukewarm, halfway cooked food, God doesn’t want halfway saints.

So, while it’s comforting to think we’re in that happy medium–you’re lukewarm if you’ve been playing both sides of the fence.

Hello, I’m Lukewarm.

“Satan bares the fruits of idleness, procrastination, laziness, lust–all unrighteousness is anything that is not of God. And God says all unrighteousness is sin,” A lot of people–and I’m just being honest–when it comes to unrighteousness think God only meant homosexuality. But when He said ALL–God meant ALL. Including that stuff you hide behind closed doors. Including that grudge you’ve been holding for years. ALL UNRIGHTEOUSNESS IS SIN. Period.

“So what do you think it is you’re doing when you choose to goof off or delay in your works,” Oh wait a minute–we’re dealing with me now! “Or brush God off because you felt like doing something else?”

… 😦

The honest truth is that while this was written a week ago, reading over it now I see that I’ve still been struggling with settling for being lukewarm and being hot/on fire for Christ…

Procrastination has been hitting me hard lately, but when I began to observe myself, I realized that I wasn’t putting much effort into my walk.

Here’s how a typical day for me went:

  • Get up
  • Pray (sometimes)
  • Get showered up
  • (If I forget to pray earlier, then pray) Maybe
  • Get dressed
  • Debate whether or not to study my Word now or wait later
  • Decide to wait later
  • Head up to work with Mom (unless school calls me to sub)
  • Get to the building
  • Sit down
    • Right here I decide whether or not I will study my Word (Today I did…)
  • (But yesterday I didn’t. Instead…)
    • Get on YouTube, Twitter, and FB
    • Tweet a bit, then get on Candy Crush Saga
    • Then play Farm Hero Saga
    • Then play Pet Rescue Saga
    • Then play Criminal Case
    • Then play Pyramid Solitare Saga
    • Then play Solitare Biltz (And not necessarily in that order)
      • Browse for music in between time
      • Eat/Restroom
    • Continue cycling through games
    • Remember to say something somewhat, halfway inspiring/uplifting on Twitter
    • Continue cycling through games
    • Finally get up from computer and walk around, listening to music, for about 10-20 minutes before leaving with Mom and going home.

Now mind you, this was anywhere from 9, 9:30am to 5:30, 6PM, with probably one or two hours away from my routine…so for EIGHT, SEVEN HOURS I spent putting in time doing everything else…planting seeds of idleness and further bearing the fruits of procrastination and laziness…

But here’s the thing…in between that time God kept nudging me, asking me, “When are you going to study your Word? Have you talked to Me today? Have you taken time out for some one on one with Me?”

And my response, “I read the scripture–that’s good enough.”

And honestly I didn’t actually read it. More like I skimmed it telling myself that I would get to it “later”…ah, that word later…that word that never shows up, never comes on time…”later.”

But then moments later I’m watching videos on YouTube and seeing all these comments that are “so ungodly” and finding all this “heavenly” new music to add to my library and I say, “Oh God is so good.”

Yeah…right.

“You really only have two options, but every new day you get is another day to make a better choice. And that begins from the very moment you wake up. Not when you hopped into the shower, not when you got out of bed–when God woke you up, you had a choice. When you got into the shower you had a choice. When you put your clothes on, when you grabbed breakfast, when you walked out the house–the decision making doesn’t stop just because you made one good choice out of a dozen bad ones.”

Evil is always present, because Satan is always putting in work. The devil isn’t going away, therefore that temptation to sin will always be there. BUT–God is omnipresent and He is always with you…so, the choice to rise above temptation is always there as well.

“Living for Christ is a constant trying battle. And if you aren’t paying attention you are going to get shot.”

Satan is already preying on you–no need to make yourself an easy target…or in my case a sitting duck because I was mainly sitting around doing nothing with the day God gave me. Just wasting borrowed time that I can’t get back..because yesterday is over.

And today is here.

“You don’t take your focus off of the enemy just because he’s reloading. You get on your job and attack even harder–don’t make yourself a sitting duck.” SEE–even the Lord had to tell me I was making myself a sitting duck! SMH…

No one’s saying you have to be perfect. No one’s saying you gotta be super duper saint. But if you can’t spare God ONE MINUTE of your time out of a 24 HOUR period…something’s wrong.

I’m striving to turn those meaningless seconds into wonderful minutes that will equal beautiful moments with God. You can join me…or not.

But it’s your choice…you get a choice every second, of each day you are blessed to see.

Leave a Reply

