Turning a New Leaf (Part I of IV)

Hold on to that thought:

“…you are not alone because you have God.”

(Decided to step back, revamp and come back with a better understanding. It makes absolutely no sense for me to take something God has spoken to me about and slap it up on here when I don’t have a clear picture of how to apply it to myself)

So…we’re starting fresh 🙂

Memory Verse: (Ecclesiastes 4:8, KJV)

There is one alone, and not a second; yea, he hath neither child nor brother: yet there is no end of all his labour; neither is his eye satisfied with riches; neither saith he, For whom do I labour and bereave my soul of good? This also is vanity, yea, it is a sore travail.

So as I studied this again, the first issue that popped up was my loneliness. I keep seeing all my friends getting married and often I find myself daydreaming about being with my future husband. I wonder what he’ll be like and how he’ll sweep me off my feet…

Then I come down from that cloud and see all my married friends, and immediately I feel alone all over again.

So as I studied over this verse, what God reminds me is that He did not intend for man to be alone (Gen. 2:18-24) Adam didn’t go begging God to give him a wife; God knew that Adam would need a “help meet” (as it’s written in the King James) just for him. Even before Eve got on the scene, Adam was content because he had God.

Which brings up another point: as long as you have God you will NEVER be alone. People will come and go all throughout your life, whether their season has passed and it’s time for you both to part ways or they leave here due to natural causes, but one thing that will always be consistent in your life is God, “Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee nor forsake thee.” (Heb. 13:5, KJV)

Let’s take a minute to look at the word “Covetousness.” It’s defined as “having or showing a great desire to possess something, typically something belonging to someone else.”

Here God is telling us to be content with what He has given us and know that long as we have Him we don’t need anything else…but how often have we gazed over at the other side of the fence wishing our yard could be that green?

I have a confession to make. I have looked at some guys (single and married) and wondered why I couldn’t have a guy that like. I even asked God if He could give me a man just like the one I was admiring, but He would always tell me that:

1) I had no idea what it took to get, let alone KEEP, a man like that.

2) The man He designed for me is specially tailored to fit me. I won’t have to MAKE it work because anything God has for me IS for me (like a puzzle piece—every puzzle piece has it’s own that it connects to, but two corner pieces will not fit each other, no matter how hard you try to force them to fit) Seeking after someone God didn’t lead you to (MEN) or send to you (LADIES) is out of order because that’s not how God designed it and they can come from the same box but if He didn’t design that piece to fit you, then it’s not going to fit. Period.

3) If I wasn’t content with what I had now, then I certainly wasn’t going to be content with the man of my dreams, because I would always be looking for more or something better, and the neighbor’s grass would always look greener than mine. God told me I needed to be content with what I had and that means taking care of what He’s already given me.

After studying over that first line, He helped me see that I didn’t need a man; I wanted one. And God’s not going to give that man to me right now because He would be feeding into my lusts, and God don’t play that.

God knows you need somebody, but also know that doesn’t necessarily mean you need to be in a romantic relationship with a person. You have friendships, family, church family and the most important relationship—with God Himself. Learn to treasure those things and be thankful in your singleness. God has to prepare us for the blessing—would you hand the keys to a ten-year-old? No, you wouldn’t (or at least I HOPE you wouldn’t) because they’re not ready to drive the car yet. They’re just not ready. You make them wait, you teach them how to drive, train them up on the rules of the road and taking precautions on how to be a safe driver so they don’t endanger themselves/others riding with them/other drivers on the road and THEN—when they finally turn of age and show they have the maturity to handle it—you give them keys.

God knows His children, and He knows you VERY well. Be patient, be content and trust that He knows what He’s doing. The Lord wants to give you that special person He has specially for you, but He’ll only give them to you when He knows you are ready to handle it and when you are mature enough to take that responsibility that comes with it. If He gives them to you before it’s time you can end up getting yourself in a wreck and hurting yourself and all parties involved (I know friends that dated guys and when the relationship went bad the families, friends got hurt too)

Be patient and know you are not alone because you have God.

Leave a Reply

