Turning a New Leaf (Part I cont.)

Memory verse: (Ecclesiastes 4:8, KJV)

There is one alone, and there is not a second; yea, he hath neither child nor brother: yet is there no end of all his labour; neither is his eye satisfied with riches; neither saith he, For whom do I labour and bereave my soul of good? This is also vanity, yea, it is a sore travail.

In the last post, I mentioned how God will not feed into our lusts,

“God’s not going to give that man to me right now because He would be feeding into my lusts, and God don’t play that.”

We’re going to explore that a little further…

When people hear “lust” they commonly think of it in a sexual aspect, but lust is defined as a “very strong sexual desire (for someone),” OR “a strong desire for something.” So you can lust for someone OR something. I’ve experienced lust on both levels–I struggled with lust for a LONG time and I still deal with it now and then.

Just to help you out–in Matthew 5:27-28, Jesus says, “Ye have heard that it was said by them of old time, Thou shalt not commit adultery: 28But I say unto you, that whosoever looketh on a woman to lust after her hath committed adultery with her already in his heart.”

Remember we fight a SPIRITUAL battle. It’s more than just a glance or a lingering stare…every time you look at someone and you lust after them, you are committing adultery in your heart with God. Where Satan tends to trip us up is, “What could it hurt to just look? I mean you’re just LOOKING at them…it’s not like you’re sleeping with them!”

Sin comes in small increments. I’m not saying that every time you look at a man or woman you are committing adultery, but from personal experience it always started as a glance here and there, then a stare or two…which led to “harmless” thoughts, that eventually turned into fantasies…

You follow me?

I can honestly say I can look at a good looking man now and not be phased one way or the other.

That doesn’t mean I’m gay, either.

I do have those days every once in awhile where I have to seek Him DILIGENTLY, “Ooo…look at that fine, fine man…boy, I–OOOO LORD! Jesus forgive me! Bad Jacqueline, bad!”

I also remember seeing a car and immediately had a strong desire to get behind the wheel. In some cases I lusted for things I saw in the store, and I heard the devil whisper, “Take it. It’s not like anyone will know…” I didn’t—but it just goes to show you that we can’t take sin lightly.

Again Jesus says in Mark 4:19, KJV “And the cares of this world, and the deceitfulness of riches, and the lusts of other things entering in, choke the word, and it becometh unfruitful.”

Lust will have you compromise your values, integrity, beliefs for something/someone you want SO BAD…only to get it and come to the conclusion you didn’t want it at all. Suddenly that thing you so desperately wanted has lost all it’s luster. It leaves you feeling empty and it became a stronghold for me because whatever seeds of life God was planting in me through His Word was being choked out by my lust.

Lust is a bottomless pit, and the more you feed it the bigger that pit becomes. You are never satisfied, you are always looking for something better, always looking for more…remember how I said I still deal with it?

God has been showing me that I am lusting to have a man in my life, so much so that I see a man and consider settling for him because, “I wouldn’t mind being married to him…he’s very attractive, saved…and you know I just GOTTA have me a GOD-FEARING man…I mean he’s KINDA what I wanted, I mean not really, but kinda sorta,” instead of just being patient and waiting for Him to bring him to me. I lust after fame and being noticed for my poetry, working the stage and having crowds come out to see me, counting up the money I’m gonna make as a best selling author, forgetting that the whole point is to reach people’s souls—not their pockets.

That empty space in your life can’t be filled with people and things. It can only be filled by Jesus and Jesus alone. Contentment is something that I confess I am still working on, but I’m learning that not every want is a need. I’m also learning to thank God for everything I have and be grateful instead of complaining and whining about what I don’t have, and pestering Him about my husband, my dream job, and all the other things I find myself lusting after.

I’ll leave with you this, “Stop trying to look for a substitute when God is preparing you for the real thing He plans to give you.”

Leave a Reply

