Turning a New Leaf (Part I: Down The Rabbit Hole)

This time the focus shifts to money and greed. You ready? Let’s go!

Memory verse: (Ecclesiastes 4:8, KJV)

There is one alone, and not a second; yea, he hath neither child nor brother: yet is there no end of all his labour; neither is his eye satisfied with riches; neither saith he, For whom do I labour and bereave my soul of good? This is also vanity, yea, it is a sore travail.

One of the things I mentioned in the last blog was my desire for fame. I find myself spending a lot of time these days imagining being on stages and performing spoken word for thousands of people, being asked to come and do shows with other poets, people bum rushing each other to buy my books, getting millions of views for my videos and being asked out by several hosts to come on their show…

“Vanity of vanities, saith the preacher, vanity of vanities; all is vanity.” (Eccles. 1:2, KJV)

It has come to my attention that my humility seriously needs some work, because whatever little bit I have I certainly don’t use.

Our gifts and talents don’t belong to us, our life does not belong to us, our bodies, our money—everything we have God gave to us—and guess what? We have to give it back. We don’t get to keep it, you can’t take any of this stuff with you when you leave here. It’s your decision what you do with it, but you will reap what you sow.

If you put nothing back into the bank, don’t expect to have money sitting there waiting on you. In other words…if you put nothing back into the relationship, don’t expect to see your name in the Book of Life, because God is going to say “Depart from Me.”

That being said, yeah I could pursue after my own lusts and the desires of my flesh, but warning comes before destruction and the warning that came to me was that I would never truly find what I was looking for, like thinking a lot of the issues I face wouldn’t be an issue if I just had more money.

I like money…sometimes a little too much. So as I studied over Eccles. 4:8, I saw that my problems ultimately were not going to be resolved by more money.

Just to be clear–money is not the root of all evil; the LOVE of money is:

For the love of money is the root of all evil: which while some coveted after they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.” (I Tim. 6:10, KJV)

Money is needed, but it can’t take the place of God.

The question God posed to me was, “How many times does Satan have to give you the pretty package all wrapped up with nothing inside before you get it?”

Satan feeds on our vanity, our lusts, and our greed. God has placed a crown of gold on our heads, but we’ll trade it without hesitation for that empty box because we allow Satan to convince us he can give us something better.

The devil is all about false appearances and deception (2 Cor. 11:14) so he knows how to make a good presentation. He’s the biggest con man there is.

“Behold, I come quickly: hold that fast which you hast, that no man take thy crown.” (Rev. 3:11, KJV)

Satan is coming for your crown, but he doesn’t have to work to steal it from you when you willingly hand it over.

The question I often ask myself, “Is my soul worth giving up for this?”

And I’d have to say no…it’s not. Neither are my wings and robe.

One thought on “Turning a New Leaf (Part I: Down The Rabbit Hole)

  1. Pingback: Ecclesiastes 4. The uselessness of self toil. God. | GodLovesBummyla

Leave a Reply

