Word Challenge Day 7 (June)

(Today’s topic: if you were an animal, what would you be? Why?)

WORD CHALLENGE DAY 7: SPEEDY

My patience
Would equate to that of a cheetah
In a full out dash
But my life
Is pretty much that
Of a turtle

A graceful, fast-paced mammal
Trapped
Inside this sluggish,
Awfully slow
Ridiculously behind everybody else
Tragically predestined
Body

Every year I look up
And it seems like
Every person I know
Is blowing right past me
No one asked me to the prom
I went by myself
I wasn’t checkin’ dudes like that
Anyway
Until I was nearing Senior year
Late bloomer
Go to college
Can’t seem to keep up
I graduated
But can’t seem to get a job
And now those girls who had dates
Yeah
All of them are just about married now
Me?
I’m still waiting on that first dat—wow

God,
I’m still waiting on that first date
Still waiting on that first day
I write my first best seller
I want to have my own apartment
So I don’t have to keep livin’ with my mama
Lord,
I just wanna have my OWN

Yeah,
I keep looking up
And everyone else is lookin’ back
Like
Man but where you been at?
And where they do that?
What’s taking you so long?
Ain’t you ‘pose to be up here already?
HOW old are you again?
Get with the program chick!

(I’m moving as fast as I can here, people)
But my life is like a turtle
That’s why I’ve got a heart for slow moving
—creatures
From snails to sloths
I know what it feels like
When you’re giving it all you’ve got
And people still critique your pace
And you put on the smiles
But deep down you’re wondering
If you should just stay in place

And that’s when He tells me,

I’m sorry, Jacqueline
I’m sorry none of the guys asked you out
I’m sorry you fell behind the pack
And they left you to fend for yourself
But all their lives are over
Yours has barely just begun
I’ve got plans for you, Daughter
I’ve got plans
If you could just learn
To make your patience and your temperament
Match your movement…
Yes, you’re dragging along
But you’re moving
And I’ve got you
Stop worrying
It’s not time for the house and the husband
With 2.4 children
And a book deal on the way
I’ve already made the way
Just walk in it
Have faith

So,
I’m a turtle
My steps are staggered
Lallygagging and lethargic
And sometimes
I manage to pick up my shell
And blaze off

Well…
I mean, blazing in the sense of fast
For a turtle at least
Like I said
I’m moving as fast as I can
Give me a break here
But I won’t complain
Much
Even when they do
Especially when they do
I think the Lord made me like this
Just so I could purposely break the rules
Break the mold
I’m unordinary
Off-center
But still in line to hit the target

Quick-lived but short end
Nah bruh, that ain’t me
Taking it slow, enjoying the moment
And growing in the meantime
Yeah buddy—better believe it!

You better believe it

Leave a Reply

