“So…What’s Next?”

I self-published my second book this year.

Now I’m gearing up to begin my third one.

Oddly enough, I don’t feel as though I’m an author…or at least, I wouldn’t consider myself one yet because I haven’t sold enough copies in my opinion to deem myself as one. At this point, I’d say I’m an aspiring author.

I’ve sold about 5 copies of To Whom It May Concern (total) as of today. I don’t think I’ll consider myself an author until I’ve sold approximately 10,000-50,000 copies.

And one day, I’m sure that will happen. In the meantime…

I’m moving on to the next project.

This season has taught me quite a bit. I’ve begun to get the hang of PayPal, making an inventory to keep up with sales using Excel spreadsheet, working on improvements for marketing and promotion, having options available for those who may not be able to get the book in digital format, keeping your audience abreast with what’s going on, etc. I love the freedom and creativity that comes with being an artist, but there’s still a business side to this publishing stuff and it’s important to know those things.

There’s also a legal side, and I’m brushing up on all that as well.

So, in case you haven’t been following along (or if you don’t feel like going back to read previous posts) I mentioned before that my third book will be a rewrite of my first: Uncomfortable Truths.

Uncomfortable Truths was a rushed work that didn’t go on to sell as much as I hoped it would. I was disobedient in how I handled it and now I am seeking to redeem it by doing exactly as the Lord tells me and writing it the way He’d have it be written. I will not go on to share what exactly all of that entails, but I will say that I’m already liking where He’s going with it. I’m actually excited when I think about it…

I’d go into the spiel on what this rewrite will be about, but I’ll save that for another post. For now, enjoy the work I’ve got out now and continue to share, like, comment, pray and all that other good stuff.

Oh and…I plan to get back to my music blog (Selective Hearing) ASAP. I’ve neglected it for far too long.

And…also…I’ve dusted off my Tumblr. My commentary is more relaxed, loose so if you’d like you can follow me along on there as well: The Soapbox. I’m working to start a gaming Tumblr as well called The Spoiler Commentaries. It’s not up and running yet, but as soon as I get it going, I’ll be sure to post a link.

Thanks again to all of you for your love and support. Continue to pray that the Lord strengthen me and that I stay in His will.

Take care and God bless.

Leave a Reply

