Eyes on the Prize

hebrews-12-1

“Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us,” (Hebrews 12:1 KJV)

I’ve had some time to reflect and I’ve realized that I allowed my problems to consume me. I forgot to remember, “I will not obsess over my problems. (Psalm 121:1)” I’ve been so distracted by what’s not going right, disappointments and every other little hectic hiccup in the road that I can’t do what I need to do.

Correction: I haven’t been doing what I need to do.

It wasn’t until toward the beginning of this week when I noticed it. I was struggling just to get through the day, and then I remembered that I hadn’t been posting snippets regularly for my book. God helped me to recall the young lady who told me she looked forward to those snippets because they kept her encouraged. I started not to post anything up that day, but my mind kept going back to her.

When you fail to do what you’re supposed to other people suffer. Especially when God has given you something to say to them.

Jesus told me something earlier this year when I was studying Proverbs 3. He told me that when the enemy comes, bringing destruction and death, I still have to keep going. Those tools the devil uses might slow me but they shouldn’t stop me. If Christ had allowed those things to stop Him, there would be no hope for us.

“I am with you, Jacqueline. Nothing, no one can stop you when I’m with you.”

comfort_hugging

You might be flooded with all sorts of issues and problems right now, but how you choose to handle it is everything. We are undefeated in Jesus, therefore every time you quit the enemy wins. Every time you choose to isolate yourself and bury yourself in everything going wrong, the enemy wins. When you choose to become bitter, turn to your vices, or simply decide to wither away—Satan wins. The devil has no power over us; we have authority over him.

Things are tough right now. I’d like to say it’s been hard for a lot of us, but there is still work that needs to be done—that must be done. I have to continue to run my race.

Does it feel good? No. Do I have days where I get confused and ask God over and over again, “Why?” Yes, I do. I get angry, I feel lost and I’m desperate for God to just tell me what the purpose of this season is. I want Him to reveal the reason for all these things straightaway.

But I say I trust Him, and because I trust Him, I will walk forward. It’s not for me to know every little detail because that’s not walking in faith. That’s telling God, “I don’t believe You are who You say You are. Prove it and then I might go.”

I’m asking that you all will continue to pray with me for peace, understanding, wisdom and forgiveness.

My prayer for each of us:

Lord, please keep us through this season and help us to endure. Keep us encouraged and give us the strength to tarry on when it seems like everything is in ruins. Guide us through the storm; remind us of whose we are and who we are in You. Lord, please be a Comforter and bring peace in the midst of chaos. Remove bitterness, sorrow, guilt, anger, shame and whatever condemnations the enemy uses to bind us. Remove whatever walls and distractions that are separating us from You. God, we ask You to forgive us for allowing our iniquities, our feelings to keep us from the work You have set before us. Teach us what it means to suffer with You and help us to remember we go through nothing by ourselves.

Jesus, thank You so much for caring for us so deeply and loving us the way You do. No one, nothing can compare to You. God we thank You for the victory right now. In Jesus name we pray, thank God and amen.

May God continue to keep you all and I pray that these words have come at the right time for someone else. I know I could’ve handled things a lot better than how I have, but what’s done is done. All I can do now is refocus on what’s important and set to it. You may have been handling this season terribly; focus on the present. What are you going to do TODAY? How are you going to go through this time in your life now? Learn from your mistakes, learn from these trials, and lets all move forward.

Together.

holding-hands

One thought on “Eyes on the Prize

  1. Pingback: (Oct. 7) Vol. 6, No. 22 – shnewsletter

Leave a Reply

