Chainmail (Poem)

I don’t know about you, but I am so tired of getting those ‘inspirational’ messages with a prayer at the end telling you to pass it on to fifteen hundred other people (an exaggeration, but you get the point.) Today, I decided to write a poem about it. No disrespect to anyone who has ever sent me one of those, but I really hope you’ll read this poem and understand why I feel the way I do about them.

CHAINMAIL

“…yes, Lord!
Oh wonderful, heavenly Father
We just ask You to continue
Blessing us,
Protecting us
And keeping us right now.
In Jesus name we pray,
Amen and amen!

I pray you were encouraged today.

Send this on to twelve people
And God will bless you tonight!”

So that’s what’s hot in the streets now,
Huh?
Chain letters in Jesus name
Where on earth did we get the idea
To do that, anyway?

Brother, Sis,
Please excuse me when I say this
But
do not want your chain letter prayers

Now don’t get me wrong
I’m not talking about those group
–messages
Where you’re simply praying
For a large number of us
And you happened to tag me in it
While it is unexpected,
It is sometimes needed and I thank you
–for that

What I am referring to
Are the so-called prayers that come
With demands and instructions
“If you’re a real believer pass it on,”
But half of the people who say that
Probably don’t even live out the Bible
—verse they attached
“If you love me just as much as I love you,
Then please send this back.”
“I don’t get this back from you,
Then I’ll know where I stand.”
I’m sorry,
But I’m pretty sure love
Is not supposed to be conditional.
“Pass this on and tag all those wonderful
—saints
You know in the Lord!”
Sure,
I could pass it on,
But then my love would seem conditional
Too
And seeing as to how my circle
Is a tight-knit loop
I think I’d rather just pray with them
Myself
Than to send them some random, generated
—message

Seeing those things at the end of a prayer
Is just like sitting in church on Sunday
And the pastor gives a beautiful sermon
Only to cheapen it by ending it with,
“…and for those of you who really want to
–to be blessed,
For just $59.99 you can have
The Ultimate Supreme Holy Ghost Filled
–package!”
(Really bro?)
What started off as something lovely
Becomes generic and insincere

And I am sure
That you may have had the best intentions
When you sent that letter to me
However
True ministry starts with you
If you truly desire to pray for me,
I mean really pray for me,
Then do it.
I don’t care if it’s only a couple of
–sentences
Or a lengthy paragraph,
As long as it came from your HEART
And the Holy Spirit is leading you
Then that’s all that matters
Give me something that shows
Your genuine fondness and concern
Don’t you dare send me another
Cut and paste,
Tag 100 people,
Carbon copy script
Leave behind that fake, legalistic
Pomp and circumstance
Because I will say it again

I
Do NOT
WANT
Your
Chain letter
Prayers

Please…
Don’t send me another one of those…

One thought on “Chainmail (Poem)

  1. I feel the same about the posts with a picture of some sickly person/child with “type amen and share or you Jesus will punish you.”

Leave a Reply

